The ISPE Foundation supports the State MATHCOUNTS competition. MATHCOUNTS is a nationwide mathematics coaching and competition program. School-based teams composed of four students compete through chapter, state and ultimately the national competitions. Illinois' program is one of the largest in the nation.

Local MATHCOUNTS competitions are held by ISPE Chapters during the month of February. Winning teams from the chapter-level competitions move on to the Illinois State competition held in March. State winners advance to May finals in Orlando, FL. Click here for more information on MATHCOUNTS.

2015 MATHCOUNTS Competition

Congratulations to the more than 250 students from across Illinois who participated in the statewide MATHCOUNTS competition Saturday, March 7, in Lisle, Illinois.

Special congratulations to Kennedy Junior High and coach Nicholas Titus for their first place team finished at the State MATHCOUNTS competition. Coach Titus will lead the 2015 Illinois National team when they compete in Boston on May 8. The National team consists of the top 4 individual finishers:

1. Karen Ge - Kennedy Junior High
2. Allen Chen - Kennedy Junior High
3. Matthew Albert Cho - University Laboratory School
4. Roshni Padhi - University of Chicago Laboratory School

The top 5 prize winning teams include:
1. Kennedy Junior High - Lisle
2. Plum Grove Junior High - Rolling Meadows
3. University High School - Champaign
4. Scullen Middle School - Naperville
5. Thayer J. Hill Middle School - Naperville

The top 4 finishers in the ever-popular Countdown Round include:
1. Allen Chen - Kennedy Junior High
2. Andrew Dai - Kennedy Junior High
3. Roshni Padhi - University of Chicago Laboratory School
4. Jesse Yang - Wilmette Junior High

We also want to recognize the top "Bonus Team" consisting of individuals/alternates competing together for the fun and challenge. The 2015 top bonus team "The U" included:
1. Calis Lim - Thomas Metcalf School
2. Caleb Carrigan - Rochester Junior High School
3. Kristina Chen - Plum Grove Junior High School

Top 25% of Individuals
Top 40$ of Teams

Important Notes for Coaches, MATHLETES & Parents

  • Illinois MATHCOUNTS recognizes our MATHLETES are involved in multiple activities that may at times conflict.  No State qualifier may compete at a different time or location than the scheduled time/date/location.
  • Coaches of teams and individuals should check in upon arrival at the competition.
  • MATHLETES should have their own calculator that complies with MATHCOUNTS rules.  It is advised that the coach or parent carry a back up.  State officials cannot supply calculators to MATHLETES.
  • MATHLETES may bring their own pencils, but pencils will be provided as well.
  • Only scratch paper supplied by the State Competition will be allowed.  All papers must be turned in prior to exiting the Competition room.
  • No cell phones/smart phones/tablets, etc. are permitted in the competition room during the competition.
  • Individual qualifiers, team qualifiers, 1 alternate and 1 coach from each school will be provided lunch.  Additional lunch tickets may be purchased for $18/each.
  • Individuals and team alternates who advance to State will be allowed to compete in a separate team category, with the teams formed at random prior to the Team Round. The winning team of individuals and alternates will be recognized at the Awards presentation.
  • Parents, coaches, siblings, etc. of MATHLETES may NOT be in the scoring room at any time.
  • Parents and coaches may volunteer to serve as proctors, however may not be in the part of the room as their student(s).
  • The top four individual MATHLETES will qualify for the National Competition.  The coach of the top team will serve as the National coach unless he/she is unable to do so.

2015 MATHCOUNTS Coordinators

State Staff Coordinators

Suzanne Baase  Courtney Adams    (217) 544-7424

State Chair

Laura McGovern, PE

Chapter MATHCOUNTS Chair
Ambraw Mr. Michael R Quandt, PE
Blackhawk Philip Mark Harpole, PE
Bloomington Shawn Maurer, PE
Capital Ryne Fiorito
Central Illinois Mr. Michael J. Marin, PE, SE
Champaign County Ryan Mumm, PE, SE
Chicago Wilbur Milhouse, PE    Myesha McClendon
DuKane Jeff Ruhde, PE
Egyptian Mr. Jonathan S Wheeler, PE
Illinois Valley Kevin Heitz, PE
Kankakee Mr. Mark R Rogers, PE
Lake County Mr. Patrick J Bleck, PE
North Suburban Leon Pallasch, PE
Peoria Area Mark Otten, PE
Rockford Douglas B Curry
Rock River Scott Brown, PE, SE
St. Clair Jennifer Stines, PE
Salt Creek Dawn Brook, PE

The 2015 Schedule will be updated as we receive information from chapters.
Chapter Competition Date Location Time
Ambraw February 19, 2015 Salem Community Center 9:00 AM
Blackhawk February 7, 2015 Bettendorf Middle School 11:00 AM
Bloomington February 7, 2015 Chiddix Junior High School 8:00 AM

February 21, 2015* DATE CHANGE


Lincoln Land Community College

Menard Hall Cafeteria

9:00 AM
Central Illinois   Millikin University, Department of Mathematics, Decatur, IL 8:30 AM
Champaign County February 7, 2015 Everitt Lab - U of I Campus 8:00 AM
Chicago February 21, 2015 CNA Headquarters 8:00 AM
DuKane February 14, 2015

Wheaton Christian Grammar School
1N350 Taylor Drive
Winfield, IL 60190

9:00 AM
Egyptian February 21, 2015 Lecture A111 in Engineering & Technology Building SIU-C

9:00 AM

Illinois Valley   Illinois Valley Community College        8:00 AM
Kankakee February 7, 2015

Burke Administration Building (Lower Level)   Olivet Nazarene University

9:00 AM
Lake County February 21, 2015 College of Lake County, Grayslake 8:15 AM
North Suburban February 7, 2015

Oakton Community College

1600 East Golf Road

Des Plaines, Illinois 60016

8:00 AM
Peoria Area


Bradley University TBA
Rockford February 7, 2015 Rock Valley College, Woodward Tech Center 12:30 PM
Rock River February 14, 2015 Sauk Valley Community College 9:00 AM
Salt Creek February 21, 2015

Rasmussen College

1400 W. Normantown Road

Romeoville, Illinois 60446

8:00 AM
St. Clair February 7, 2015 Southern Illinois University - Edwardsville 7:30 AM
Western No competition